Posted December 10, 2018 10:53 am by Comments

By Ammoland

A Falcon 9 rocket lifts off Monday at 10:34 a.m. PST (1:34 p.m. EST; 1834 GMT) from Space Launch Complex 4-East at Vandenberg Air Force Base, California. Credit: SpaceX

Opinion

Watch the latest video at foxnews.com

USA – -(AmmoLand.com)- Last week, a group of more than 200 middle and high school students got to see what they can achieve when they work hard and dream big in America.

Students at The Weiss School in Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, and students from six public high schools in Irvine, California, gathered around their respective computer monitors Monday to watch their hard work blastoff into space aboard a SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket from Vandenberg Air Force Base.

Along with 62 other commercial and government satellites from 17 countries, the rocket carried WeissSat-1 and IRVINE02 – two small satellites that the student groups had separately conceptualized, designed, built, programmed, and rigorously tested for three years. Both successfully deployed from the rocket’s second stage and are now orbiting our planet. These join a growing number of satellites built by young Americans (the first elementary school-built satellite launched into space in December 2015).

Stop for a moment to consider just how remarkable these achievements really are – and what they mean for the future of our country and humanity.

I remember science projects in middle and high school. They were miniature volcanoes that belched steam from dry ice – …Read the Rest

Source:: AmmoLand

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *