BATON ROUGE, LOUISIANA — Recognizing that those fleeing domestic abuse situations are under a clear and present danger, the Louisiana legislature is moving ahead with a bill that would temporarily lift the need for mandatory training before acquiring a concealed carry permit. This measure, if passed into law, would enable those struggling under the threat of violence to be able to quickly go through the concealed carry application process and obtain a permit.
via The Advertiser
“Most everybody realizes guns are deadly,” Hodges said. “(Victims of domestic violence) feel an imminent danger.”
In order to qualify for this program, a victim of domestic abuse would need to seek an injunction against his or her abuser. Proof of this injunction would be evidence, under the proposed House Bill, of a reasonably expeditious reason to acquire a 35-day concealed carry permit without taking the prerequisite gun safety classes and related training.
Rep Valarie Hodges, R-Denham Springs, pulled statistics from the Louisiana Supreme Court to support her bill. According to records pulled from the court system, 60 percent of those who get protective orders have them violated in some manner.
That’s a majority, folks.
Measures like this introduce a weird loophole in the concealed carry permitting process …Read the Rest
Source:: Concealed Nation